Pulle

The carp’s no longer alone.

The carp is as much part of the Moselle river as it is an integral part of our coat of arms. This remarkable tradition began as far back as 1664 with fishermen who not only practised “Karp” (the Moselle Franconian word for “carp) fishing, but also viticulture. Around 1900, the Schreiber family joined the Karps through marriage and the Karp no longer had to swim alone, at least in name…

Today, Jobst-Julius Karp, the 13th generation of the family, manages this traditional wine estate. Having gained a degree in oenology and viticulture engineering from Geisenheim University, he toured the world of wine from California to New Zealand, from Australia to South Africa and then back to Spain to gain experience beyond the horizon of his home country.

Being right there.

Who can be closer to practising nature conservation than someone who makes a living from it? And for us, it’s not just an empty phrase, we consistently promote it. Our free spaces are fitted with bee, insect and lizard hotels, and additional vegetation between the vine rows create a flourishing viticultural landscape. Biodiversity and viticulture are not mutually exclusive, they can have a fully-fledged independent existence from each other.

Modernity that make sense.

An ecological approach in no way rules out the use of state-of-the-art technology. Since Merlin and Elias – our two donkeys – refuse to work in the vineyard, we make careful and effective use of a rotary hoe. We also use durable patina poles made of corten steel to prevent contamination with zinc. Our grape pressing process is gentle and we practice cool fermentation in stainless steel. This produces fruity and fresh wines, and, after a period of maturing in a traditional “Fuderfass” oak barrel (which holds 1000 litres) our authentic expressive single-vineyard wines which impress with their individual character.

Shopping Cart
There are no products in the cart!
Total
0,00 
0

Pulle

Hier greift der Karpfen zur Feder.

So wie der Karpfen zur Mosel, so gehört derselbe auch zu unserem Wappen. Angefangen hat diese beachtliche Tradition bereits 1664 mit Fischern, die neben dem Fang des „Karp“ – was moselfränkisch „Karpfen“ bedeutet – auch Weinbau betrieben. Um 1900 kam dann durch Heirat die Familie Schreiber hinzu, wodurch der Karpfen zumindest im Namen nicht mehr alleine schwimmen musste…
Heute leitet Jobst-Julius Karp in der 13. Generation das traditionsreiche Weingut. Der diplomierte Ingenieur für Weinbau und Oenologie bereiste nach seinem Studium in Geisenheim zunächst einmal die sprichwörtliche Weinwelt von Kalifornien über Neuseeland, Australien und Südafrika bis nach Spanien, um über den heimischen Glasrand hinaus Erfahrungen zu sammeln.

Ganz nah dran.

Wem kann der Naturschutz näher sein als dem, der davon lebt? Für uns ist dies keine Worthülse, sondern wir handeln konsequent danach. Dabei werden Freiflächen im Weinbau mit Bienen-, Insekten- und Eidechsenhotels bestückt, Zwischenzeilenbegrünungen sorgen für eine blühende Weinkulturlandschaft. Biodiversität und Weinbau schließen sich nicht aus, sie können unabhängig voneinander vollwertig existieren.

Mit sinnvoller Moderne.

Ökologie schließt den Einsatz modernster Technik keineswegs aus. Da Merlin und Elias  – unsere beiden Esel – die Arbeit im Weinberg verweigern, arbeiten wir hier ebenso behutsam wie effektiv mit der Rollhacke. Zudem setzen wir auf langlebige Edelrostpfähle  aus Cortenstahl um eine Kontamination mit Zink auszuschließen. Dank schonender Traubenpressung und gekühlter Gärung im Edelstahl entstehen fruchtig- frische Weine, sowie nach der Reife im traditionellen Fuderfass (einem Holzfass, mit 1000 Liter Inhalt) unsere ausdrucksstarken, authentischen Lagenweine, die mit individuellem Charakter begeistern.

Natürliche Vielfalt

Alle Preise inkl. 16% MwSt. · ab 12 Flaschen versandkostenfrei

Warenkorb
Es sind keine Produkte in deinem Warenkorb!
0